Databases

Off-campus access with OpenAthens


The databases listed here are most easily accessed by logging in directly to OpenAthens. A guide for logging in to your OpenAthens account can be found on this page.  

HeinOnline

Over 1,600 law and law-related periodicals from inception; the world’s largest collection of constitutions and constitutional documents; One hundred thousand of the most important early English cases that laid the foundation for the laws of nations under the British Empire; The United Nations Law Collection, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, as well as Legal Classics. Particularly useful for researching of Maritime Law and the Law of the Sea.


I-Law

An excellent source of full-text information focusing primarily on maritime law. The publisher, Informa Law, offers a major portion of the Lloyd’s publications available online, including journals, reports and a few books. It does not, however, include the Lloyd’s List daily, which the library obtains under separate subscription (see the E-Journals list to access; found under Collections – Not in Discovery Service). Full-text available for the Maritime & Commercial “practice.” An account is needed to access resources, to create an account you will need to click login and select create a corporate account using your WMU gmail account details. The WMU licence allows 5 simultaneous users at a time.


IMO documents

Search and download documents of the International Maritime Organization. Login required. You may sign up for a Public Account on webaccounts.imo.org.


ISL Maritime Intelligence

The ISL – Institute of Shipping Economics and Logistics – one of Europe’s leading institutes in the area of maritime logistics research, consulting and knowledge transfer.
WMU Library has access to:
ISL SHIPPING STATISTICS YEARBOOK (SSYB), 2007-2017 &
ISL SHIPPING STATISTICS AND MARKET REVIEW (SSMR), 2008-2018.


ISO e-nav platform

This database provided by the Swedish Standards Institute is a gateway to a number of ISO standards WMU Library has acquired for its patrons.


Maritime Commons

WMU's institutional repository of digital content. Includes PDFs of WMU student dissertations, papers and presentations of WMU faculty and researchers, and E-content. Content purchased from third parties such as the Drewry Manning Report, IHS Casualty Statistics, and articles from ScienceDirect are restricted to on-campus access, but most is "open access."


Statista

Immediate access to over one million statistics and facts. Over 80,000 topics. Download statistics in PNG, PDF, Excel or PowerPoint.


Westlaw

A platform that powers Thomson Reuters products; Westlaw Classic, Westlaw International, Westlaw Watch, and Reuters with Newsroom. The Westlaw platform includes intuitive navigation, as well as new content, custom pages, tools and functionality.


Westlaw UK
Off campus access: 1. Click "Use your organizations Single Sign On" 2. Choose "Sign in with One Pass" In top left corner 3. Click the blue button "Access through OpenAthens" 4. Use "Find your organization" to the right and select World Maritime University 3. Enter your WMU Gmail credentials

Westlaw UK gives you access to vast but easily searchable databases of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials.